Question: How Much Is A Car Inspection In Missouri?

A: Inspection stations may charge a fee of up to $12.00 for passenger vehicles and trucks, and $10.00 for motorcycles.

Q: What if the Missouri inspection expires while my vehicle is in another state?

How often do you need a car inspection in Missouri?

two years

What does a car need to pass inspection in Missouri?

Engine. Within the engine, the exhaust system, brake lines and hoses, fuel system, shock absorbers, spring/torsion bar, front wheel/king pin play, idler arm, pitman arm, stabilizer links, lower control arms, wear indicator type and ball joints will each be inspected.

Is Missouri doing away with vehicle inspections?

Missouri lawmakers have advanced a bill to eliminate the requirement. JEFFERSON CITY, Mo. (KMOX) — Soon, you may no longer need a vehicle inspection in Missouri. However, this does not eliminate the requirement for emissions testing.

How much is a car safety inspection?

You’ll be looking at around $40 (inc GST) for a Safety Check Certificate. If a vehicle does not pass the check, the registration cannot be renewed until the required repairs have been completed.

How old does a car have to be to not need emissions in Missouri?

The new law will require inspections for vehicles more than 10 years old, or with at least 150,000 miles. The new law takes effect Aug. 28, Parson’s office said. The new rules will mean an estimated 1.1 million vehicles in Missouri that are 5 to 10 years old will no longer need an inspection.

Do I have to get my car inspected every year in Missouri?

Currently, Missouri motorists are required to pass a vehicle inspection every two years once a vehicle is 5 years old. During a hearing this month before the House Transportation Committee, Eggleston said the majority of states — 34, including Kansas — do not require vehicle inspections.

Will a cracked windshield pass inspection in Missouri?

Missouri also requires that all vehicle windshields allow clear views of the roadway and intersecting roadways. Any cracks, chips or areas of discoloration that are located within an area four inches above the bottom of the windshield and within the swipe of the windshield wipers in the driver’s view are not permitted.

What year cars need inspection in Missouri?

Currently, Missouri motorists are required to pass a vehicle inspection every two years once a vehicle is 5 years old. During a hearing this month before the House Transportation Committee, Eggleston said the majority of states — 34, including Kansas — do not require vehicle inspections.

Will a check engine light fail inspection in Missouri?

If a certain number of monitors have run, and if the “Check Engine Light” is not illuminated, the vehicle will pass the Missouri emissions inspection. The owner of a vehicle that has failed an emissions inspection may repair the vehicle him or herself or have it repaired by a repair shop or individual.

Can you sell a car in Missouri without an inspection?

Dealers may also sell a vehicle without a current valid emissions inspection compliance certificate. The dealer is required to have the necessary repairs made, at no cost to the purchaser, that result in the vehicle receiving an emissions test ‘Pass,’ as no waiver is available to a dealer with this type of sale.

How long do inspections last in Missouri?

60 days

Do I need an inspection to renew my tags in Missouri?

To renew your license plates, you will need:

A Missouri safety inspection and/or emissions inspection certificate not more than 60 days old, if applicable; The correct registration (license plate) and processing fee.

How do I know if I need an inspection on my car?

0:51

6:49

Suggested clip 99 seconds

Tips on How to Pass State Inspection – YouTube

YouTube

Start of suggested clip

End of suggested clip

How much my car is worth?

The result is a clear picture of what your car is worth, or how much you should pay. You may pay less for a car with an accident, or more for a car without one. Only CARFAX gives you the VIN-specific price for every used car based on its history.

What do you need for a car inspection?

Bring All Necessary Documents and Car Information to Your Inspection. When you take your car for an inspection, you must bring your driver’s license, registration, and proof of insurance. Any photocopies, faxes, or emailed documents are considered invalid and won’t be accepted.

Is my car exempt from emissions testing?

The three most recent model year vehicles are exempt from emissions testing each year. For registration in 2020, this includes all 2018 and newer model year vehicles. Additionally, vehicles that are 25 model years or older are exempt from emissions testing.

Do I need to get my car inspected in Missouri?

Currently, Missouri motorists are required to pass a vehicle inspection every two years once a vehicle is 5 years old. During a hearing this month before the House Transportation Committee, Eggleston said the majority of states — 34, including Kansas — do not require vehicle inspections.

Do you have to get your car inspected before its registered?

The short answer is yes. If your vehicle registration needs to be renewed, you must pass an official state inspection before you’ll be able to get a new registration sticker.